Home/Offices/Moderator of the Curia

Moderator of the Curia

Moderator of the Curia

The curia of a diocese are those institutions (offices and departments) and persons that assist the bishop in the governance of the diocese, especially in guiding pastoral action, in caring for the administration of the diocese, and in exercising judicial power. The principal officials of a diocesan curia are the Vicar General, the Chancellor, the officials of the diocesan Tribunal (or court), examiners, Consultors, auditors, and notaries.

The Moderator of the Curia is charged by the Bishop of Albany with the responsibility for achieving the most efficient use of staff, facilities, equipment, administrative systems, and all other resources of the Pastoral Center of the Diocese of Albany and for monitoring of the progress and accountability of all budgets and all projects and assignments that are given to or initiated by the Pastoral Center. The mission of the Moderator of the Curia is to coordinate activities concerning administration and to ensure that the personnel of the Curia properly fulfill the offices and responsibilities entrusted to them.

Effective July 1, 2015, Bishop Edward B. Scharfenberger appointed Rev. Donald L. Rutherford as Moderator of the Curia of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Albany.


The Chancellor fulfills the canonical duties of this position by ensuring the documents of the curia are gathered, arranged and safeguarded in the archives, and by recording the ecclesiastical acts, decrees, and dispensations issued by the bishop (can. 482). The Chancellor is the chief notary, chief secretary and chief archivist of the diocesan curia.  The duties of the Chancellor also extend to assisting the bishop and the diocese in administrative matters. The Chancellor helps disseminate information to clergy, parishes, and the Catholic faithful that may be beneficial to the people of the Diocese of Albany.

Effective January 1, 2017, Bishop Edward B. Scharfenberger appointed Rev. Donald L. Rutherford, Moderator of the Curia, as Chancellor of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Albany.