Home/Offices/Protecting Children/Diocesan Review Board

Diocesan Review Board

The Diocesan Sexual Misconduct Review Board functions as a confidential consultative body to the bishop in discharging his responsibilities. It consists of the following members: 

Rev. David V. Berberian, pastor, St. Thomas the Apostle Church, Delmar

Hon. Jaclyn A. Brilling

Rev. Michael A. Farano, former Vicar General, Moderator of the Curia and Chancellor for the Roman Catholic Diocese of Albany 

Kathryn M. Martin, LMSW, CASAC, CPP

Harvey Scherer, MD, Board Certified Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist

Sister Serena A. Thompason, CSJ

Lawrence Wiest

Among the review board members are parents and grandparents in accordance with the policies established by the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. 

The review board will advise the bishop in his assessment of allegations of sexual abuse of minors; review diocesan policies for dealing with sexual abuse of minors; and offer advice on all aspects of these cases, whether retrospectively or prospectively. 

The Albany Diocese is currently following the policies and procedures contained in the Norms adopted in Washington on November 13, 2002, after consultation with Vatican officials and in the Charter for the Protection of Children and Young People revised on November 13, 2002, to conform to those norms. 

NOTE:  Anyone wishing to report a complaint of clergy sexual misconduct in the Albany Diocese is asked to contact the diocesan Assistance Coordinator at 518-453-6646.