The Diocesan Committee on Scouting is dedicated to promoting “Duty to God” at each level of Scouting. 

Scouting is Youth Ministry 

The goals of Catholic youth ministry match Scouting’s three aims: Character development, preparation for responsible citizenship, and physical and mental fitness.  

Goal 1: To empower young people to live as disciples of Jesus Christ. 

Goal 2: To draw young people to responsible participation in the life, mission, and work of the Catholic faith community.

Goal 3: To foster the total personal and spiritual growth of each young person. 

Award programs for Catholic Girl Scouts, registered leaders, and troops

  • Family of God, ages 7-9 
  • I Live My Faith, ages 9-11 
  • Marian Medal, ages 12-15 
  • Spirit Alive, Senior Scouts 
  • International Catholic Neighbor, all ages 
  • Saint Anne Medal, a national adult recognition 
  • Letters of congratulations and certificates for Gold Award 
  • More information on requirements can be found at http://www.nccgscf.org 

Award programs for Catholic Cub and Boy Scouts, registered leaders, and troops

  • Light of Christ, grades 1-2 
  • Parvuli Dei, grades 3- 5 
  • Ad Altare Dei, grades 7-12 
  • Pius XII, grades 9 to college 
  • International Awareness Activity, all ages 
  • Pope Paul VI, special unit recognition 
  • Bronze Pelican Medal, diocesan adult award 
  • St. George Medal, national recognition for adults 
  • Letters of congratulations and certificates of achievement for Eagle Scouts  
  • More information on requirements can be found here.

Roman Catholic Diocese of Albany Awards for Girl Scouts

  • Child Jesus, grade 3 
  • Kateri Tekakwitha, grades 5-6 
  • Christian Heritage, grades 5-6  
  • Christian Heritage, grades 7-10 
  • Annual Bishop’s Award, diocesan award for outstanding troops 
  • Saint Elizabeth Seton Medal, a diocesan adult award 

Catholic Sponsored BSA Units